Do Vegans Eat Fish?

When you become vegan, it is important to understand what the term means. You need to be aware of what foods you can and cannot eat. Especially Can vegans eat fish? It is fully understanding your dietary requirements will help to make the transition easier for you. Do you believe vegan eat fish?

Do Vegans Eat Fish

If you do not know what vegans eat, it is important to find out!

There are lots of different terms that are used to describe several different dietary requirements and it can be confusing.

Lots of diets consume fish, so finding out if vegans consume fish or not is important for ensuring that you stick to your vegan diet.

This article will explain if vegans eat fish or not so that you can become more familiar with this growing lifestyle.

You can find out more below to see what is considered to be vegan. How you should follow the dietary requirements? 

Do Vegans Eat Fish?

Vegans do not eat any products that come from animal sources, so they do not eat fish. To eat fish, the process involves killing the animal, which does not make it vegan-friendly.

Caviar, which is made from fish eggs, is also not suitable for vegans to eat. It is produced by an animal, so it is not vegan-friendly. 

Although strict vegans do not eat fish, some vegans are more flexible with their diets.

Lots of people follow a vegan diet, but make exceptions for certain foods, such as fish, so they are a lot more flexible than those who follow a strictly plant-based diet. 

Vegan Fish Alternatives

If you are interested in vegan alternatives for fish, there are several that you can make at home! You can buy the ingredients at any supermarket, so they are not difficult to find.

Lots of people struggle with finding the right taste and texture with fish alternatives, so trying several different options will allow you to find the right one for you. 


Tofu is high in protein, so it is very popular for vegans to consume. It is made from soya beans and is very beneficial for vegans as it provides them with lots of nutrients that they often miss out on.

You can use tofu as a fish alternative by marinating it in vegan fish broth as the crumbly texture resembles cooked fish. 



If you are missing salmon or tuna, making spicy vegan seafood using tomatoes is a great option.

You will need to boil the tomatoes, remove the skins, and remove the seeds inside so that you are left with soft flesh.

You can then marinate the flesh in spices and mix it with spicy mayonnaise to replicate your favorite fishy flavors!


This seems like an unrealistic alternative to fish, but soaking carrots can soften their texture to replicate salmon.

You should thinly slice the carrots and marinate them in liquid smoke, spices, oil, vinegar, and algae to create a distinctive seafood flavor. Once the carrot absorbs the marinade, you can fry or bake it. 


Jackfruit has a stringy texture when it is cooked and pulled, so it is often used as a vegan alternative to pulled pork. It absorbs marinade well and can create a realistic texture to cooked fish.

You can use it in batter or as a substitute for fish in a fish pie as it can be baked and sits well inside the pastry (Also check out Are Pop Tarts Vegan?). 


Mushrooms are also very versatile vegetables that can be used as vegan substitutes for fish.

Similar to jackfruit, mushrooms can be pulled to reveal a stringy texture, so they are perfect to use to create vegan fish.

They can easily be marinated as they absorb liquids very well and quickly, giving them a good flavor that is similar to fish. 

Why Use Algae?

When you are creating vegan fish alternatives, finding the right ingredients to marinate your food in is important as you want to replicate the same strong flavors that you find in fish.

Salty flavors are important as you want the vegan fish to have the same savory taste that cooked fish has, and using algae can provide this. 

What Is A Pescatarian?

What Is A Pescatarian?

Pescatarians follow a vegetarian diet, but they still consume fish. They can eat dairy, but they do not eat any meat except seafood.

Most vegetarians avoid eating both fish and meat, but some people prefer to be flexible with their dietary requirements. 

One of the main reasons why people follow a pescatarian diet is to have more options in restaurants.

Veganism has become increasingly popular over the years. Vegans still struggle to eat out without worrying about a lack of options.

Being pescetarianism allows people to confidently eat out without worrying about the options. 

Can Vegans Eat Fish?

Some people prefer to follow a strict vegan diet as they find it ethical as they dislike eating animal products for several reasons.

You want to become a vegan eat fish but you want to continue eating fish. You can do so, but you need to make sure that you are happy with what you are consuming. 

It is important to listen to your body and to be happy with your dietary requirements. Your diet is your choice, so only you can choose what you eat.

As long as you are healthy and are listening to your body. It is up to you what foods you eat and what your diet looks like. 

Final Thoughts

To conclude, vegans do not eat fish as they avoid consuming animal products, but there are many vegan alternatives.

You can use mushrooms, jackfruit, or tofu to create vegan fish substitutes so that you can continue to have all of your favorite foods whilst still adhering to a plant-based diet. 

Many vegans struggle with getting the right nutrients from a plant-based diet. They are more flexible with their dietary requirements, so it is not unusual for them to eat fish.

It is up to you what you put into your body. You just need to listen to what your body needs and make sure that it is healthy and well looked after.

Clara Howie
Latest posts by Clara Howie (see all)