Is Peanut Butter Vegan?

Peanut butter is a very versatile ingredient that can be used for breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks, and baking. Most important question is peanut butter vegan actually? 

It is very popular as it is salty and contains peanuts, which are very delicious to eat and also very healthy. They provide the body with lots of vital nutrients like vitamin E and manganese. 

Is Peanut Butter Vegan

If you are used to having peanut butter daily, you might be wondering if it is suitable for vegans, especially if you are considering adopting a plant-based diet.

You will need to know all of the ingredients that are in peanut butter. That you are aware of whether or not you can consume it. 

This article will explain whether or not peanut butter is vegan (Also check out Is Cocoa Butter Vegan?)  so that you can see if it is suitable to eat and only made from plant-based ingredients.

You can find out more below about what is used to make peanut butter and if it contains animal products. 

Is Peanut Butter Vegan?

Most peanut butter recipes that you find in the supermarket are vegan as they contain sugar, oil, salt, and most importantly, peanuts.

All of these ingredients are suitable for vegans, so they can enjoy them. The process of making peanut butter involves roasting the peanuts and forming a paste with the other ingredients. 

The main reason that vegetable oil is included in jars of peanut butter is to stop the natural oils from the peanuts from rising to the top.

There is no other oil present in the jar of peanut butter except for peanut oil. You will notice that there is a layer of natural peanut oil at the top and it is not added oil. 

Can Peanut Butter Be Unsuitable For Vegans?

Peanut butter can be unsuitable for vegans to consume when it is sweetened with honey. Honey comes from bees, so it is not considered to be a vegan product.

Is peanut butter contains honey and you follow a vegan diet? It should be avoided as it is not adhering to the plant-based requirements. 

Other brands of peanut butter are unsuitable for vegans to eat, such as flavored peanut butter.

It has become popular to create spreads mixing both peanut butter and chocolate, which is not often suitable for vegans.

Some of the spreads may blend dark chocolate and peanut butter. You will need to read the ingredients list carefully. 


The process that some sugars go through is not vegan as a filtration system containing bone char is not plant-based.

To avoid consuming non-vegan sugar, you will need to check with the brand to see if they use this process. If they do not, the sugar should be suitable for vegans to eat. If not, you should avoid it. 

Palm Oil

Palm Oil

Although palm oil is vegan, it is avoided by vegans as it causes environmental damage.

Producing palm oil causes lots of different wildlife species to lose their habitats. Lots of people make a conscious effort to avoid consuming products containing palm oil.

Some brands use sustainable palm oil, so you can search for this on the ingredients list. 

Types Of Peanut Butter

Some people have a type of peanut butter that they enjoy, but others are more flexible.

If you have never tried peanut butter before, you will need to decide what texture you will prefer so that you can enjoy adding it to your meals!


Crunchy peanut butter contains chunks of peanuts to add more flavor and texture.

Lots of people prefer this texture as it is authentic and gives a stronger peanut flavor, especially when it is used in sandwiches or on toast.

Crunchy peanut butter can be store-bought, you just need to check on the label that it is crunchy, not smooth. 


Smooth peanut butter is probably the most popular form of peanut butter as it does not contain chunks.

The peanuts are ground down into a paste to form the silky smooth texture. People who dislike peanuts even enjoy smooth peanut butter!

You can add it to lots of different dishes to add saltiness and a hint of delicious peanut flavor!

Is Peanut Butter Healthy?

Provides You With Energy

Peanut butter is often associated with breakfast foods as it gives you the energy that you need to start the day.

It contains fiber, healthy fats, and protein, so it sets your body up for the day. It also keeps your blood sugar at a good level, helping you to feel more like yourself when consumed as a snack during the day. 

Can Improve Skin

Peanut butter contains vitamin E, a vitamin that helps to keep your skin healthy and glowing.

Without vitamin E, your skin will not be protected, so eating peanut butter is a good way to ensure that your skin is receiving the right care that it needs.

It is an antioxidant, helping to remove toxins from your skin to leave you looking radiant. 

Helps Muscle Recovery

After an intense workout (You might also want to check out these Amazing Vegan Pre-Workout for you), you need to let your muscles recover to prevent an injury. As well as being high in protein, peanut butter contains potassium, which also helps your muscles to recover.

Consuming peanut butter after a workout can help your body to speed up its recovery process and to keep your muscles healthy and in good condition. 

Final Thoughts

To conclude, peanut butter is suitable for vegans as all of the ingredients that it contains can be eaten by vegans. It is usually made from oil, peanuts, sugar, and salt, which are all vegan-friendly.

Some filtration processes for sugar can be unsuitable for vegans as they contain bone char, but you can check this with the brand to see if their sugar is vegan

There are also brands of peanut butter that contain honey or chocolate as sweeteners, which are not vegan.

Some chocolate, like dark chocolate, can be suitable for vegans, but you will still need to check the ingredients list to ensure that the peanut butter does not contain dairy as this is unsuitable for vegans.

Clara Howie
Latest posts by Clara Howie (see all)